Failure may not always be optional, but it is always necessary.

Awake at 5am. The intention was to get in some quiet time and write, but I sat down and began working on work. I’m launching an ad campaign today. It includes TV, radio, social, search display… basically everything besides print. I wrote the copy, handled the entire creative direction, the ad buys, laid out the entire digital strategy, the email automation… all me. There’s no telling how many people are going to see this, and with any luck at all it will be wildly successful.

Why am I writing about this? Because at 5am I’m concerned about failing. I’m concerned that if I don’t make sure all ads are rolling and targeting is on point that this whole thing is going to fail. I’ve done this before… it was successful then, but I can’t get the idea of not being great out of my head.

I know I’m not a failure. I know I’m actually great at what I do. People pay me to do this. People make money because I am good at what I do.

Failure is a tricky thing. It’s real, very real. I have failed many times at many things. It’s those failures that have made me who I am today. Even though failure is part of the foundation of my success I still fear it.

The truth is that if I were to fail on this campaign I would still be in business. I have built a foundation of trust with everyone that I work with. They know that I’m gifted at what I do. They have experienced the fruit of that.

The fear of failure is based on a lie. Failure isn’t fun when it happens, but it does spur us on to grow. Failure is a learning opportunity not something to be afraid of.  The lie of failure is that life is over if you fail. To be honest, life generally get’s better after a failure. Take it from a 35 year old who takes a lot of chances… with chances come the inevitable failures.

Failure is a lie when your have the right perspective. It doesn’t really exist if we use failure as an opportunity to grow! In that case failure becomes success. With each failure we get better. We grow and move forward.

Today is a good day to re-evaluate failure. It’s a good day to look at the things that we are afraid of and understand them for what they are, lies. It’s a good time to look at our successes and remember the failures that led up to them and be thankful for the lessons we’ve learned each time.

Take chances.

Fail.

Grow.

Succeed.

Failure may not always be optional, but it is always necessary.

Leave a Reply

