The Birds of the Air

This is also posted at awakeningmission.com as part of the daily devotional series… If you need a daily devotional check it out 🙂
Matthew 6:25-27
“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?”
On Monday I’m embarking on the journey of a life time, I will be leaving Texas, the home that I’ve known for 31 years, and setting roots in Nashville, Tn! It’s been crazy and one of the biggest tests of my faith. My main concern is that it’s not just me… it’s my wife and 4 children.
The Lord has been faithful in this time of transition. As we have needed provision he has provided. As we have lacked in faith he has given us reason to increase our faith. For example; we are currently raising funds for this transition. Just yesterday we were at 15% of our funding. I said “I would love to hit 20% by the end of the day.” with no real way to achieve that on my own. Well last night when I went to bed we were at 20.2%! The majority of that came from a very unexpected source, that I could not have anticipated. But The Lord used that to increase my faith.
Let’s be honest we all worry at some point… sometimes we have great reasons to worry, like moving 600 miles away without the proper resources currently in place. Or sometimes we worry about small things, we may not have $5 for gas, we may spill coffee on our shirt first thing in the morning, we may be running 5 minutes late for a meeting… regardless of the worry Jesus says not to do it. He points to nature and says look at what I do for these creatures… do I not love you more!
I’m not talking about acting out of foolishness, but rather out of faith. Sometimes we may not understand what the Lord is doing but in the end he rewards faith more than understanding. He is calling us to be obedient to him. Our obedience to him and trust in his plan leads us to not worrying. As we grow in the Lord we experience Him in new and powerful ways and our testimonies of His faithfulness increase our reasons to not worry increase. Until then we have the testimonies of our brothers and sisters, which can be just as powerful and encouraging sometimes.
Are you going through a trying time, where you need encouragement or provision from The Lord? Start recalling the times he has been faithful, ask your brothers and sisters for times that The Lord has provided for them. There is power in these testimonies.
Father, teach us to lean on you, not our own understanding. Grow us in obedience and faith. Give us miraculous testimonies of your goodness. I pray for a generation to show the world what it means to lean on you. In Jesus’ mighty, powerful and resurrecting name I pray. Amen!  

“Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?”

The Birds of the Air

Leave a Reply

